Midwest Institute for Sexuality and Gender Diversity Logo

Midwest Bisexual Lesbian Gay Transgender Ally College Conference (MBLGTACC)

MBLGTACC is an annual conference held to connect, educate, and empower LGBTQIA+ college students, faculty, and staff around the Midwest and beyond. It has attracted advocates and thought leaders including Angela Davis, Robyn Ochs, Janet Mock, Laverne Cox, Kate Bornstein, Faisal Alam, and LZ Granderson; and entertainers and artists including J Mase III, Todrick Hall, Margaret Cho, Chely Wright, and Loren Cameron.

To date, MBLGTACC is the largest and oldest continuously-held LGBTQIA+ college conference in the nation. And it is entirely and proudly student-run.

  • Were you an early MBLGCC or MBLGTCC planner? Connect with our historian, Noah, about our MBLGTACC history project.


MBLGTACC’s story is one of true, grassroots student activism.

Then named the Midwest Bisexual Lesbian Gay College Conference (MBLGCC), MBLGTACC was first imagined at another conference in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1991. Born out of the largely-coastal social movements of the 1990s, organizers saw a need to give voice to queer students in the Midwest. That group of young leaders and changemakers came together a year later to lay down the organizing principles and logistical roadmap for the first annual MBLGCC.

Then, in February 1993, the first annual MBLGCC (now MBLGTACC) was held at Iowa State University, a collaborative effort between students at Iowa State and Drake University.

Here's to you, our MBLGTACC 25th anniversary video, was debuted at MBLGTACC 2017 at Navy Pier.


1993: The 1st annual Midwest Bisexual Lesbian Gay College Conference took place at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa

1995: The theme for the 1995 and 1996 conferences was “Building Queer Success in the Midwest.” While it is unconfirmed, conference lore suggests this was intended to be the conference’s official slogan. Later conferences selected other themes, but the commitment to building queer success in the Midwest remained constant.

1997: The conference was renamed the Midwest Bisexual Lesbian Gay Transgender College Conference

2001: The conference was renamed the Midwest Bisexual Lesbian Gay Transgender Ally College Conference

2007: Oversight Committee created

2013: MBLGTACC reaches 2000+ attendees for the first time in Lansing, Michigan, and hosted by students from Michigan State University

2015: Oversight Committee authorizes creation of a non-profit with professional staff

2016: The Midwest Institute for Sexuality and Gender Diversity is officially launched

2017: MBLGTACC 2017 marks the 25th anniversary of the conference

Discover past conference themes and sift your way through old program guides below. Intrigued? Consider bidding to host MBLGTACC on your campus.

List of hosts & Themes

Year Host School(s) Conference Theme
1993 Iowa State University and Drake University First annual MBLGCC
1994 Earlham College (Indiana) Greetings From The 90's... Wish You Were Here Queer
1995 Southern Illinois University at Carbondale Building Queer Success in the Midwest
1996 Beloit College (Wisconsin) Building Queer Success in the Midwest
1997 Indiana State University We're Here! We're Queer! We're Fabulous!
1998 University of Illinois at Chicago Across the Fruited Plain
1999 University of Wisconsin-Madison Moving Forward, Looking Back
2000 Saint Cloud State University (Minnesota) Making Waves Into the New Millennium
2001 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Out and About: Breaking the Silence, Breaking the Boundaries, Breaking the Labels
2002 Michigan State University Still Moving Forward
2003 The Ohio State University Loving With Pride
2004 Iowa State University Speak Up! Speak Out! Celebrating the Power of Communication to Fight Hate and Fear
2005 Saint Cloud State University (Minnesota) Building the Bridge to Bring It All Together
2006 University of South Dakota Painting the Rainbow: Celebrating Unity Through Diversity
2007 University of Minnesota at Twin Cities Alphabet Soup: No Matter The Letter We Stand Together
2008 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Voting for Change: Liberty and Justice For All
2009 Indiana University Bloomington Living Out Loud: Examining Our Past to Enhance Our Future
2010 University of Wisconsin-Madison Get Real! Confronting Privilege, Provoking Dialogue and Building New Foundations
2011 University of Michigan Justice or Just Us? Achieving Liberty for All
2012 Iowa State University The Butterfly Effect: Evolution to Revolution
2013 Michigan State University Mosaic: Putting the Pieces Together
2014 University of Missouri-Kansas City Jazzin' It Up
2015 Illinois State University Narrating a New Normal
2016 Purdue University Introspection at the Crossroads
2017 Chicago Coalition of Queer and Allied
Students (CCQAS)
(DePaul University,
Loyola University Chicago, Northeastern Illinois University)
United in Solidarity
2018 University of Nebraska-Omaha All Roads Lead to Intersectionality
2019 Wichita State Beyond the Rainbow and to the Stars